Anybody have experience with RV roadtrips/tailgating at GT?

gtrower

Dodd-Like
I know its early, but I'm already ancy about planning roadtrips for the games this fall. I was considering renting an RV with some friends to roadtrip for the VT game (from Washington DC). But I have zero experience with this and it would be great to discuss with somebody who's done it before. I've done some research through GT and rental sites, but it still raises a lot of questions such as...

Is it worth it in terms of price/entertainment over flying (about 650 miles from DC to ATL)

How many people can you legally stuff in there / how many people can you in reality stuff in there

Parking/tailgating for the game (location/price/timing)

Driving/gas mileage/filling up/emptying tanks

And a bunch other random questions. So if any of you are willing to share your experiences with me I'd greatly appreciate it. Either on here or PM me is fine.

Thanks

I went on an RV trip to Notre Dame in 07, we went with "Cruise America" and there were 6 of us I believe. It wasn't a large unit, so we were tight but could have had 1 or 2 more max. I believe it ended up costing around $200-250 per person for rental/gas and the keg we kept in the shower.

Notre Dame was really easy to park an RV at, except you couldn't stay overnight. We knew some people in the area, so we just parked there.

Obviously got garbage gas mileage, but we knew that going in. We cleaned the inside of the RV before taking it back, but got dinged for like $40 cleaning charge for the exterior. I don't remember having to empty any tanks. I think we got charged for propane use or maybe it was generator time.

It was freakin awesome. Don't get too drunk in the RV though, tight spaces and black out drunks don't go together well. And when you are tailgating, try and keep the doors closed to keep bugs out. And don't let random people take a dump in it either.

Pretty good review:

http://www0.epinions.com/content_168830602884