AT Funding

wgjacket

Varsity Lurker
I have been giving to the AT fund for the last 18 years and as I always send a check before the New Year for tax purposes, but for a myriad of reasons I am having second thoughts on contributing. I am not a large contributor, usually I am in the Dodd circle, but I do not see a reason to give my money away any more to this atheletic department. The following are the reasons and please give me an argument because I would like to see the error in my ways.

I. Football Program

Coaching
I will not go into the ability of Gailey, because I gave money during Curry and Lewis and they were both terrible. Gailey has not sign a buyout clause in his contract and O Leary still owe 1 million from his. How can I help support a coach salary when he has such a low regard for a contract. I sorry the business that I am we stand by our written contract.

Ticketing
I now live 420 miles from Georgia Tech and therefore getting season tickets are not feasible.
I do try to get to at least one-two games a year. With by season ticket package I can buy single game ticket but never to Clemson, FSU, Geaorgia and I am sure this year Auburn. I have call people at the AT and they said this helps on season tickets base and if I really were a Tech fan I would just buy a whole season ticket package to support old MA Tech. Unfortunately they do not mind selling these tickets to the opposition, so therefore any homefield advantage is diminished. This year I went to the VAndy and Duke game and picked up tickets for $5 from scalpers at the gate. If I decided to go to Auburn I could buy tickets from scalpers at double of the cost and it would still be much less than my AT fund.

Bowl Travel
Every bowl game we bring every hanger on to the game and puts in top notch accomendations. When I am road on business travel I stay at Hamptons/Courtyards. Obviously I need the money more than our travelling party.

Basketball
Coaching