Coach Gailey on 680AM

mm42

Dodd-Like
Coach Gailey was interview by Buck & Kincaid & Max Howell on 680 around 6:30 PM.

(This is very rough from memory - I was in the car and couldn't take notes.)

Congratulated him on a great class.
Gailey: We filled a lot of needs, especially on both lines and WR.

Tell us about Calvin Johnson.
Gailey: He's a big target, 6'4", good moves and hands, he has all the tools you look for in a WR. He is also a super kid and just a special person, as you know.

(Buck) What do you think was the big factor to for Calvin to choose GT?
Gailey: I don't think it was any one thing and you don't know everything that goes on in a kid's head. I think GT has a lot to offer kids, they like the academics, the facilities, the coaches, the program and tradition, I think for most of them it's the total package.

(Buck) I'm an admirer of Coach Geis and the tremendous job he has done developing so many great receivers. He's got to be happy to Calvin Johnson coming.
Gailey: He just got a lot better as a coach. (All laugh). He is very excited, we all are, about Calvin and also about a couple of other WR we signed who we think can succeed.

You have kept your Cowboys connection alive with a number of players from Texas over past 2 years.
Gailey: Yes, it's a place we want to continue to look at because there are so many good players in Texas. We concentrate mostly on the Houston and Dallas metro areas. It's also good because of academics there. We are also happy to continue our success with big-time players from Louisiana as well with the big guy we signed today.

(Max Howell) Duh, Coach how will you work with the kids from now 'til the end of the year making sure they are eligible and stick to the books?
Gailey: That's not an issue for any of our players, they are all having outstanding years in the classroom as well as the playing field. Eligibility is something we don't have to worry about at all.