Coaching Search Update

I was more interested in Houston in 2018 than I am now. He is doing just okay at East Carolina. Really not much to this update.

I was more interested in Houston in 2018 than I am now. He is doing just okay at East Carolina. Really not much to this update.

That's pretty much why he fell off my radar. Going to ECU from James Madison is a puzzling leap. Was it purely financial, or...? Is ECU a dump? Is it hard to win there? Serious question, I have zero knowledge of ECU as a football program. By comparison, Willie Fritz's record at Tulane to me qualifies as impressive for what Tulane is. Not sure if ECU is a similar situation...

As an ECU season ticket holder I can tell you that if you hire Mike Houston you will get a great guy, old school football coach, who will be passionate about winning. He is a good coach. If hired I would love for him to bring his defensive coordinator but not the offensive staff.

Yes, he is 20-22 at ECU, but the program went 9-27 under his predecessor and he started off in ‘19 and ‘20 going 7-14 but is 13-8 since. I would be happy for him to stay at ECU, but I think we can do better at Tech. (I also think we could do a whole lot worse.)

Bottom line, what could go wrong if we get a head coach from ECU?

As an ECU season ticket holder I can tell you that if you hire Mike Houston you will get a great guy, old school football coach, who will be passionate about winning. He is a good coach. If hired I would love for him to bring his defensive coordinator but not the offensive staff.

Yes, he is 20-22 at ECU, but the program went 9-27 under his predecessor and he started off in ‘19 and ‘20 going 7-14 but is 13-8 since. I would be happy for him to stay at ECU, but I think we can do better at Tech. (I also think we could do a whole lot worse.)

Bottom line, what could go wrong if we get a head coach from ECU?