"damn good rat"; como?

Yellow Fever

Jolly Good Fellow
Could someone explain what exactly this means? I am still learning the history of GT and its teams over the years. Sorry for the noob question, i'll come around eventually :D

Refers to GT Freshmen. RATS - Recently Acquired Tech Student. Or RAT - Recruit At Tech.

Edit to add:
Freshman would wear RAT caps. The RAT caps are decorated with the football team's scores, the freshman's name, hometown, major, expected graduation date, and "To Hell With Georgia" emblazoned on the back of the cap.

It actually started dying in 1982 when the Rats On The Field tradition ended due to ACC rules about who could go on the field.

I've always wished that it could be revived by finding a way to get a ton of freshman back on the field under the ACC rules, maybe by forming them into an official school organization or something.

Nobody wears the RAT caps they give out anymore except for the band nerds. They don't even fit.

Nobody wears the RAT caps they give out anymore except for the band nerds. They don't even fit.

You have to get different sizes.

To the original question: Damn Good Rats was generally a cheer the upperclassmen yelled when the Rats did something good. The best cheers were when the Rats (who went on the field and formed a tunnel for the team), would break rank and go after the Duke, Clemson, etc mascot's TAILS.

Of course great fun was had by the upperclassmen after a few "cokes" and cheers immediately started before the game began:

"Rats on the Field" "Rats on the Field"

When on the field and nothing happened, the cheers would continue:

"Damn Poor Rats, Damn Poor Rats"

Egging on drunk 18 year olds was pretty easy and eventually they'd break for the opponent's mascot.

"Damn Good Rats, Damn Good Rats" It was great fun, particularly when your team was winless.