Things I've been wanting to get off my chest...

BerryGT

Jolly Good Fellow
Things I\'ve been wanting to get off my chest...

So 2 weeks ago I'm sitting at a Jiffy Lube here in Vegas waiting on my truck and an NFL game is on in the lobby so a woman from Texas, a man Philadelphia, and me starting chatting about football and where we're from and the woman asks me, "So are you a Georgia fan?" and I immediately laugh a little and say, "No, I'm a Georgia Tech fan.", and both of them immediately perked up and smiled said something like, "That's great." and you could just tell that they respected GT and respected me for being a GT fan.

Now, I was a runner in high school and college. Nothing spectacular but I was on one of the better teams in GA late 90's in h.s. and went on to run at Berry College, one of the best small college programs in the country. Once in high school my coach got on to one of the guys for leaving his jersey laying on the ground after a race and told him to have pride in that jersey and the school represented by it. I never forgot that and always from then on tried to take a minute before every race, wether I was racing some class A high school or the best D-1 program in the nation, to slip on my jersey with a little pride almost like I was showing off where I go school. It wasn't like I was Rudy seeing my ND game jersey for the first time but just that when I put it on I wanted to do it well. I still do it everyday when I get ready for work when I put on my flight suit(it's even stronger when your "team" is your country).