What If?

ahsoisee

Dodd-Like
Now, don't get me wrong, I am not a personal supporter of Dave Braine. I am not a personal supporter of Chan Gailey.

I am a supporter of Tech athletics and anyone in the administration trying to enhance Tech athletics. Of course, if I find out someone is purposely trying to sabotage Tech athletics or has very bad character traits, I would not want them at Tech.

Since I did not attend Tech, I rarely enter into the debates regarding the academics other than its effect on the sports teams.

I did defend Braine and the committee when they hired Gailey. I still believe Chan was an excellent candidate, even if he does not turn out to be successful at Tech.

Since Braine is the athletics CEO and member of the committee, I am convinced both Braine and the committee made the same decision that 99% of all committees would have made in that situation.

So, regardless of the eventual effectiveness of Gailey, I still think Braine and the committee found the best candidate at the time.

I have also supported the decision to retain Gailey, at least through this year, because it is the right thing to do, and any coach deserves at least two years to show his mettle. Also, a record of 7-6 for any first year coach is not sufficient to get rid of him.

After stating all of the above, I have a question or situation to pose to the board.

On Chan Gailey, I think his future is in his hands, and we will have a pretty good idea of his worth after this season.

I know nothing about Braine, other than the bits of information from the news media and the Tech boards.

I know he has hired Hewitt, Gailey, and Joseph. He may have hired other coaches, but someone else will have to add that information if there are additional hires.

We have to judge each individual on their decisions and actions.

It seems apparent some of the blame may be placed at his feet for the recent change in academic policies leading to the failure of 10 athletes.