How the BIOs and SID work - NO RESUMES

Culb

Varsity Lurker
Thought this might shed some light on how the false info got put on their bios. I'm sure some of you have read this, but some might not have. I just kills me when I read newsgroups or watch sports channels or listen to the radio and I keep hearing about how the coaches lied on their resumes. Coaches DO NOT have RESUMES. They don't need them. Their records are what get them hired at other places.

From the Hive:
Posted by Lawyer Buzz on January 30, 2002 at 09:29:02: from 64.12.107.42

At least how it worked when I was a student assistant at Tech's SID in the 80's (unlike Goldtimer, that would be the 1980's). It probably has not changed much and was pretty representative of how other SID offices operated. I am not trying to blame or excuse anyone in this ongoing mess, just trying to provide a little info that might help us all understand.

Basically, someone in SID writes bio's from info provided by the players and coaches. The info, however, is usually submitted on forms or comes in bits and pieces from various sources. SID then tries to turn all these little fragments into coherent and interesting sentences.

As an 18 year old freshmen at Tech, I personally wrote the bio's for the media guide on all the new baseball players one year and can easily understand how innocent mistakes can occur. For example, if I got a form with the following responses:

throws - right
position - second base
hometown - Orlando, Florida
graduated - Central High
etc.

I would probably write something like: "This right hander from Orlando played second base at Central High."