My view from Death Valley (long)

CowGill

Flats Noob
Many, many observations. Take them with a grain of salt (if possible). I am no football expert. Please note that this is all from memory (and a bad one, at that). I have not had a chance to watch the tape yet. I might never watch the tape.

THE GOOD:

1) Did everyone see Mr. Tony Hollings out there? Good. I about messed my pants during the 70+ yarder.

2) The defense, I thought, did enough to win. They did not play great by any means.

3) Rhino's interception. Great break on the ball.

4) Dyke looked pretty good. Shanked one early, but came back and had some beaut's today.

5) Manget's streak is still alive?

6) No injuries, I think.

That's all I can think of.

THE BAD:

1) Suggs was off today. Many plays you can watch him stare down one receiver until he either threw it or got sacked.

1b) At least twice I saw Bridges line up next to the wide receiver on the left side with only one corner covering both of them. Both times Bridges ended up pretty much wide open, with a LB trying to cover him.

2) Offensive line seemed to give AJ adequate time sometimes, and completely fall apart other times. I am not sure if this was due to clever blitzing or just poor execution on our part. I would like to think it is both, however I really think it was due much more to execution on our side of the ball.

3) Offensive line wasn't giving Tony much to work with, either. When they did, he capitalized, and sometimes when they didn't he capitalized anyway.
cool.gif

4) Our receivers really, really like to run sideways. This is not fun to watch.

5) Kick coverage was pitiful. Return blocking was also pitiful. If I see one more block in the back I will commit ritual suicide.

6) Poree's little blunder in the end zone. This kind of thing is what happens on days like these. I felt for him after that.