Getting over our inferioty complex with UGA...

i_like_money

Varsity Lurker
Getting over our inferiority complex with UGA...

I know there are going to be a lot of people who disagree with me, but hear me out...

I consider myself a new age GT fan, I graduated in 07 and we never beat UGA during my entire time there. In addition to that my gf and my best friend are UGA alums. The annual matchup has been no fun for me for obvious reasons.

The reason for this post is our school's OBSESSION with our in-state rival. An obsession they do not share with us. From the fight song, to the annual "To Hell With Georgia" edition of the Technique, etc. I realize most of this is tradition, but you also have guys on here constantly updating UGA game scores only to be disappointed when they win at the end. (see last week)

Here's the deal. I'm not saying we stop hating UGA by any means. But our program is not on the level with theirs and until we start beating them its pointless to keep worrying about them. I propose that the fanbase move in a direction of caring about our football team's season as a whole instead of putting all their happiness on the outcome of the UGA game.

Its an unhealthy obsession. I get embarrassed when my friend asks "Why are u guys always thinking about us? We're not thinking about you." and I dont really have an answer.

Yes their fans are obnoxious. But I dont see the point of taking the bait and falling for their insults and getting mad. In a sense, Tech is the little brother always trying to impress big brother UGA. When in reality we should carry ourselves with a confidence that doesnt rely on worrying about the other team.

I'd like to hear u guys comments. Especially the younger crowd. I know how the older crowd feels. And please keep the flaming to a minimum. :fingersx:

Last edited:
You're young. Wait til we beat them. They hate losing to us more than any other program on earth. On earth.