The shuffle pass at the end….

C
I'm no expert but it looks like Cooper's man beat him too and would have made a play on Deveney. At least I think that's him exiting stage left with head in the sky after the play is blown up.
Cooper got enough of an initial push that I think Deveney's momentum would've carried him on into the endzone had Johnson made the block on Skalski. Also, Johnson is supposed to turn that up into the hole and Deveney likely would have gone outside of him anyway, which would've taken Cooper's man out of the play too.

I don't agree 0 has bead on Mason - maybe Masom beats him and maybe not
Agree. Possible but inconclusive. Clemson gets a lot of credit for blowing up that play. Their D isn't just good because they are big/fast - they are good football players.

I will take my chances with Mason one on one with a corner in the open field. Eerily reminiscent of the play against UT when the pitch wins the game.

Cooper got enough of an initial push that I think Deveney's momentum would've carried him on into the endzone had Johnson made the block on Skalski. Also, Johnson is supposed to turn that up into the hole and Deveney likely would have gone outside of him anyway, which would've taken Cooper's man out of the play too.

I didn’t realize it until getting back home and watching the replay, but Skalski also blew up the 2nd down pitch-pass to McGowan.

I still take my chances with Mason 1/1 vs a true freshman LB, I don't care how many stars he has. I like my odds there better than inside where the strongest part of their defense is, and they had more guys than us there.

C

Gotcha. That makes sense. The way it unfolded I thought he was supposed to hit a gap between Johnson and Cooper but it went even worse than I thought.