Why the Benz?

beej67

new around here
Sorry for the newbie question. I'm new to GT football and haven't seen a game in 2 years, and someone gave me some free tickets. Why is this game not at BDS? I guess when you're as bad as we are home field advantage really doesn't matter?

GTBenz.jpeg

Sorry for the newbie question. I'm new to GT football and haven't seen a game in 2 years, and someone gave me some free tickets. Why is this game not at BDS? I guess when you're as bad as we are home field advantage really doesn't matter?
Since nobody else will give you a serious answer, it's something that TStan worked out a couple of years ago, supposedly to get us more exposure. I think it's a 5 year deal. We were supposed to play ND there last year, but that got cancelled. TStan and somebody in the ACC worked it out to play UNC there this year. Getting more exposure has turned out to be bogus though, since the game will be on the ACC Network, which not many markets get.

People bitching about lack of amenities at BDS. BDS will never have the amenities that MBS has. Both are great places to watch sporting events so enjoy.

Georgia Tech made $2.85 Million from their game at their 2017 Mercedes-Benz game with Tennessee. From that you can estimate that Georgia Tech will be making somewhere between $10 – $15 Million for moving a series of games less than 3 miles from their home stadium.

GEORGIA TECH HOME GAMES AT MERCEDES-BENZ STADIUM
2021 – Sept. 25 vs. North Carolina
2022 – Sept. 5 vs. Clemson (Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game)
2023 – Sept. 2 vs. Louisville (Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game)
2024 – Oct. 19 vs. Notre Dame
2025 – TBA
2026 – TBA

When last season’s home game versus Notre Dame was moved from MBS to Bobby Dodd Stadium due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Tech athletics was able to add an extra year to the agreement, giving the Yellow Jackets six-straight annual home games at MBS from 2021-26.