- Dec 24, 2010
I have been watching some replays. I think there should have been an interference call on the punt. Maybe a call you wouldn't get at that venue, but still it looked pretty close to me.
What does the rule say? There was no contact. Personally, I think there should be some sort of halo rule, as the guy was clearly trying to disrupt his concentration. And it worked.I have been watching some replays. I think there should have been an interference call on the punt. Maybe a call you wouldn't get at that venue, but still it looked pretty close to me.
I agree with you in principle for sure. If he had taken even a small step to be in position to make the catch he would’ve been hit by a guy running at nearly full speed. To me it just seems that the rule should allow for that.I did not know that the rule had been changed. Thanks all. Beer time now. Everybody have a safe Labor day weekend.
This. Instead of stepping up to catch the ball, which is his right as the receiver, he hesitated because he had someone bearing down on him.He needed move toward the ball and let the Clemson defender make contact with him. Instead he reached and missed. Understandably it's hard to move yourself into the path of someone running at full speed knowing that you aren't in a defensive body position and you're going to get decked.